Home » Knowledgebase » Installation & setup » Upgrading ABSS » Upgrading MYOB company file

Upgrading MYOB company file

This post has been updated for the newer versions of ABSS (formerly known as MYOB).

Click on the links below to watch the video tutorials on how to upgrade ABSS solutions and files.


Once you have installed the new version of MYOB, the next step is to upgrade your company file so that it can be used with the upgraded version

There are 2 ways to achieve this, by opening the file from the new version, or using the MYOB Upgade Assistant. Both ways achieve the same result.

megaphone_30 It is not recommended to upgrade your company file over a network. If your company file is located on a server or another computer, it is best to copy the file to the PC where MYOB is installed, do the upgrade then copy it back to it’s original location.

Upgrading by opening your company file

  • Start your new version of MYOB
  • Click on Open in the Welcome screen
  • Browse to the folder where your company file is located, select it and click Open
  • Provide your User ID and Password (if any) and click OK

You will be prompted that MYOB is unable to open the file as it has not been upgraded for use with the newer version as shown in the image below:

myob unable to open file

Click on Yes

This will launch the MYOB Upgrade Assistant, and the steps that follow are the same

One difference is the Upgrade Assistant will by default select to save the company file in the same folder with the same name as the old one.

myob upgrade assistant existing file

Just click on Cancel, then follow the rest of the steps below.

Upgrading using the MYOB Upgrade Assistant

To start the upgrade assistant, navigate to your new MYOB folder, and look for a file named “MYOBPUpg.exe”. Double click this to start it

In the Upgrade Assistant Welcome screen, click Next

myob upgrade assistant

In the following screen, click on Find File, then browse to where your old company file is located, select it, then click Open

myob upgrade assistant find file

Your screen should now look like this:

myob upgrade assistant

Next, click on the Save As button to select the location you wish to save the upgraded company file to.

myob upgrade assistant

At this point, you can choose to save in the same location or in a new location. If you choose to save to the same location, change the name of the file. We usually add the version number at the end of the file name so that we know which version it is. For example, if your old company file is named “air jernih.myo”, name it “air jernih v16.myo”. This makes it easy to differentiate the versions of company file that you have.

Remember to make a note of where you are saving the upgraded file to so that you know where it is when you need to open it.

Click Next to review the selections you made

myob upgrade assistant

If satisfied with the settings, click Next

MYOB will proceed to upgrade your company file and when completed, you will see the screen below:

myob upgrade assistant

If you have more than one company file, click Next and repeat the process. When completed, click Finish

When upgrading your company file, MYOB does not overwrite your existing file. Instead, a new file is created. You must select either a new location to save to, or change the name of the file.

If you try to save to the same location, with the same file name, you will receive this error message.

myob upgrade assistant

In the event you encounter an error during the upgrade process, simply start over and select the old company file again.

If you are using MYOB Premier in a multi-user environment, note that the company file only needs to be upgraded once. All other users share the same file so once you upgrade it, it is done for all users.

error: Alert: Content is protected.